

Topic: Old Blighty

Beather

Background Information	Interesting Facts	Key Vocabulary	
The United kingdom refers to England, Scotland, Wales and Northern Ireland.	 c. 925 – The Kingdom of England. Established by the unification of Anglo-Saxon tribes across modern day England. 	Мар	A diagrammatic representation of an area of land or sea showing physical features, cities, roads, etc.
Wales.The four countries all consist of counties.	 Great Britain refers to England, Scotland and Wales. The four countries all consist of counties. The United Kingdom is in the continent of Europe. Each of the four countries have their own capital city: London (England); Edinburgh (Scotland); Cardiff (Wales); Belfast (Northern Ireland) The United Kingdom of Creat Britain. The United Kingdom of Creat Britain and Ireland 	Nation	A large body of people united by common descent, history, culture, or language, in- habiting a particular country or territory.
 rope. Each of the four countries have their own capital 		County	A territorial division of some countries, forming the chief unit of local administra- tion.
Cardiff (Wales); Belfast (Northern Ireland)		Region	An area, especially part of a country or the world having definable characteristics but not always fixed boundaries.
Diagrams / Timelines / Photos	Ireland joins the union, and once again the name changes.	Topography	The study of the shape and features of land surfaces.
BRITISH ISLES	 1922 – United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland. The Republic of Ireland (Eire, or 'Southern Ireland') withdraws from the union, 	Compass points	The four cardinal directions are north (N), east (E), south (S), west (W), at 90° angles on the compass rose
	leaving just the northern counties of Ireland. This	Population	All the inhabitants of a particular place.
	 is the UK that remains to this day. England contains about 84% of the UK population. Much of the land in England is flat (low lying) - less than 1000m above sea level, forming meadowlands and pastures and less than 10 percent of the area is covered by woodlands. Farmers raise animals or grow crops in the fields . The UK is bordered by four seas: to the south by the English Channel, which separates it from continental Europe; to the east by the North Sea; to the west by the Irish Sea and the Atlantic Ocean. Scotland has some 790 islands - 130 inhabited. Scotland is about twice as large as Holland . Much of Wales, due to poor soil, is unsuitable for crop-growing, and so livestock farming has traditionally been the focus of agriculture. After years of civil war, Ireland became a republic in 1921. At this time, Britain negotiated with Ireland to keep the six counties in the north-east of Ireland. These six counties now make up what is known as Northern Ireland. The southern part of the island is the Republic of Ireland, or Eire. 	 Find th colnshi Find th Lincoln Create live in. Locate to visit Create 	e names of the five largest settlements in shire and find them on a map. your own map of the town or village you